Disc Plow Setup

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
rockfarmer
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 78633
Tractors Owned: 1947 Circle Cub
1948 Cub
1949 Cub (Rocky)
1950 Cub
1962 Cub
Circle of Safety: Y

Disc Plow Setup

Postby rockfarmer » Wed Mar 06, 2019 9:11 am

Going to try and turn over a garden spot for the first time with a Cub and a 152 type disc plow. :? Got my feet wet by making 2 passes and only taking 4-6 inches of dirt per pass. I can clearly see the use for the scraper.

This plow came with Rocky and I have never used it or anything like it before. There is no scraper and the disc measures 25 1/4" in diameter.

152 plow mounted on 48.jpg

disc plow.jpg

Question: Will I need a main beam spreader with this setup?
152 Plow mounting 2.jpg

152 Plow mounting.jpg

Can I mount a scraper on this plow?

Bill Hudson
Team Cub
Team Cub
Zip Code: 44057
Tractors Owned: 57 F-Cub - Dad & Mom's Cub
77 F-Cub - Red Long Stripe

Re: Disc Plow Setup

Postby Bill Hudson » Wed Mar 06, 2019 10:57 am

Tim,

Yes you can mount a scraper, but it will take some serious fabrication. I suggest that you take a right angle grinder and mount an aggressive wire wheel to it and then go after the face of the disk. Remove as much rust as possible and then maybe use a relatively coarse grit sanding disk on the grinder to somewhat polish the disc surface. If the disc surface is smooth you may not need a scraper. This approach my be the best option.

Have a very successful Barn Dance next month.

Gig 'Em!

Bill
"The probability of life originating from accident is comparable to the probability of the unabridged dictionary resulting from an explosion in a printing shop." Edwin Conklin, biologist

Member of Ohio Chapter #6

Glen
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 00000