This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

New vent hole

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
halftonstude
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 06482
Circle of Safety: Y

New vent hole

Postby halftonstude » Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:05 pm

Hi gang,
i took the cub for a ride today... first time in 13 months since i started the restoration and it's all back together!!! As an engineer, I like to think that things were done a certain way for a reason. Though I may not know the reason, doesn't mean there wasn't one. So when i search the forum archives for "vent hole" i find plenty (17 pages) of topics about the steering gear box, and the fill plug vent hole. How when the front bolster gets hot, gear oil may get pushed out past the seal because the vent hole is plugged. I cleaned mine, and do not expect any issues from it. However.. upon looking at other areas of the tractor, i see plenty of places where a vent hole might help. Like the transmission fill plug, or the rear finals as well. Do any of the experts here have an opinion? The differential in a car uses hypoid gear oil because of the extreme pressures and temperatures generated during use, and automobile rear ends have vents (at least my Studebaker does...) so why wouldn't our tractors? If the steering box does, couldn't the tranny too to prevent oil from being pushed out past the differential seals? And though the finals have only spur gears, couldn't they be subject to increased operating temperatures due to the pressure exerted on the oil by the gears? The finals