This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Newbie and Stumped

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Dave in Md
10+ Years
10+ Years

Newbie and Stumped

Postby Dave in Md » Sun Oct 24, 2004 8:11 am

I'm a newbie to this forum and the new owner of a '53 Cub (...175313J). I picked it up about a month ago and have been working on little repairs in between cleaning 50 years of life off of it. I drove it before I bought it, drove it onto the trailer, and have driven it around the farm as part of a 'wring out' process. It didn't have the power it should have, but was running. It's a solid little machine, no rust, no dents, and no welds.
I decided to rebuild the carb. I've begun to doubt the smarts to that decision because now I can't get the Cub to start. Per the book I seated the adjustment screw then backed it out one turn. After a minute of cranking I had fuel dripping out of the intake of the carb. Thinking something may not be correct inside I pulled it off the tractor, opened it up, checked everything, and installed it back on the tractor. Same results. I leaned the mixture (backed the screw out) and the fuel no longer drips out of the intake after cranking as long as it's out 2 or more turns. At 2 1/2 turns out it'll fire and sometimes run for 1 - 3 seconds before it dies. Any further in or out and I get nothing.