Do I need to repolarize the generator

Farmall Cub Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.

Do I need to repolarize the generator

Postby leerenovations » Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:44 am

OK, Stupid question time. Im not an electrician so I thought Id ask.


I have the battery out of my 48 right now due to the Oklahoma heat eating up my battery.

Im about to buy a replacement battery, do I need to repolarize the generator? Or is this only done when ganging out the generator?


My 48 is 6 volt uncoverted.

Thanks
Tractors are like watermelons: the RED is good and you throw away the GREEN.
leerenovations
Cub Star
Cub Star
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:12 am
Location: Newalla, Oklahoma
Zip Code: 74857
Tractors Owned: 1948 McCormick Farmall Cub (Farmalice)
Circle of Safety Award
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Do I need to repolarize the generator

Postby pickerandsinger » Fri Aug 16, 2013 4:46 am

No question is stupid.....But there is no need to polarize the generator to change the battery.....Dave
In Memory of 58,286
pickerandsinger
501 Club
501 Club
 
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2012 3:23 pm
Zip Code: 13143
Tractors Owned: 1957 Cub Low Boy w/ Danco c3
1953 Cub w/ IH C-2 Mower
1950 Ferguson TO20 w/ loader
1951 Ferguson TEA 20 (parts)
F/H Disc Harrow for cub L-38
C-22 Sickle Bar Mower
IH Cub Snow Blade 54A
York Rake for Cub home made
Single bottom Plow for Cub F194
Gravely 5660 12 hp/ w snoblower.rototiller,bush hog
Circle of Safety Award
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Do I need to repolarize the generator

Postby Jim Becker » Fri Aug 16, 2013 8:15 am

If both the old and new batteries are installed the same way, there is no need to repolarize. On the other hand, it never hurts anything to repolarize a generator.
User avatar
Jim Becker
Team Cub
Team Cub
 
Posts: 11850
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 3:14 pm
Location: TX/MN
Zip Code: 75048
Circle of Safety Award
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Do I need to repolarize the generator

Postby Landreo » Fri Aug 16, 2013 11:57 am

The battery is disconnected from the generator everytime the tractor is shut off.... by the cut out part of the regulator. Unless you removed the generator with a scrap yard magnet it should not need to be repolarized. But, as Jim Becker said, it will not hurt anything.

If you test a generator by running as a motor the you may need to repolarize in the correct direction.
Landreo
501 Club
501 Club
 
Posts: 956
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:10 am
Location: SC, Ridgeway
Zip Code: 29130
Tractors Owned: fcub
1 cyl fcub
154
Earthmaster
JD 40MT
JD 420 crawler-loader
D-2 Cat dozer
AC Model C
Cub Cadets
Red-E
Circle of Safety Award
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Do I need to repolarize the generator

Postby leerenovations » Fri Aug 16, 2013 9:57 pm

OK, thanks for the answer. Just wondered if it was something I would have to educate myself on after installing the battery.
Tractors are like watermelons: the RED is good and you throw away the GREEN.
leerenovations
Cub Star
Cub Star
 
Posts: 189
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 4:12 am
Location: Newalla, Oklahoma
Zip Code: 74857
Tractors Owned: 1948 McCormick Farmall Cub (Farmalice)
Circle of Safety Award
Circle of Safety: Y


Return to Farmall Cub

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cdn Country Bumkin, Hoyt-Clagwell, Posco and 3 guests