This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Governor seal installed

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
shawman
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 52761

Governor seal installed

Postby shawman » Mon Nov 03, 2014 11:14 pm

As some of you may have read in my newbie post, I had a leaking governor seal that I wasn't sure how to fix. I am still very new to the tractor world, never worked on one before this one. I studied what I could find here, then proceeded to mess it up right off the bat. I pulled the distributor without marking it, thinking it would go right back where it was. My thoughts didn't include a shaft that didn't have some kind of flat spot, or special spline to make it fit only in one spot. Not only that, I either didn't pay attention, or see where that shaft could come out of the distributor, and stick in the governor assembly. Having played with small block chevies some, and what I read about timing here, I wasn't too stressed out about getting the timing back somehow.

The first order was to get the seal out, and the new one in. I managed to get the old seal out with an autobody type dent puller, since I didn't remove the governor. That trick was learned from here, worked very well also. I have a pretty good friend who made me a "custom" seal driver. I did pay attention to the 23/32" measurement for seal depth. I drove the seal in a few days ago. Unfortunately, the seal driver came up about 15 or so thousandths short.