Dead 47 Cub

Farmall Cub Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Ray D
Zip Code: 95326

Dead 47 Cub

Postby Ray D » Sun Mar 01, 2015 11:24 pm

I'm a newbie to the site requesting help with my dead 47 Cub. It is a standard Cub with a magneto. It ran well for months. Now it suddenly acts like there is no battery connected. I verified the battery is charged and the cable to the starter is good. The ammeter fuse in good. I even tried hand cranking it without success. Can a bad magneto cause a complete failure where it will not even crank? I expected if the mag was a problem, it should still crank the starter motor but not start - is that valid? Also bypassed the on/off switch without success. Any ideas are appreciated. Thanks. Ray

Posco
Cub Star!!
Cub Star!!
Zip Code: 04730
Tractors Owned: 1950 Cub...so far

Re: Dead 47 Cub

Postby Posco » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:20 am

Interesting. I just replaced a bad kill switch on my Cub. Different problem, though. It wouldn't kill the tractor so I had to shut off the fuel and wait for it to die.

I had a bad wire leading from the mag to the distributor. No fire to the distributor. Worth checking. More seasoned hands will be along shortly.

randallc
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 72940
Tractors Owned: 1951 Farmall Cub, 152 disk plow, 2 gang disk, belly mower, sickle mower
1949 Farmall Cub, cultivator, moldboard plow, disk,front blade. Cub Cadet, LTX1045 Mower. Cub Cadet's 109, 125, 1000, and 1250
1961 cub c2 belly mower and full blade. 48 cub manual lift with cultivators.
Circle of Safety: Y

Postby randallc » Mon Mar 02, 2015 6:07 am