New guy with some questions

Farmall Cub Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
HD103
Zip Code: 62882

New guy with some questions

Postby HD103 » Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:27 pm

Hey guys! Im new to antique tractors and i recently took custody of what i believe to be a 1948 cub. It belonged to my grandpa until he died in 1998. It had been restored to some degree before he died and has been sitting under a lean to since. I pulled it out a while back and drug it into the shed and started in on it. New battery and over hauled the carb in an effort to get it running. only then to find out i had low compression on all 4 cylinders. last night i dug into it, got the tractor split and the engine out. everything in the bottom end looks great, so im thinking ill be able to get away with having the valves ground new valve guides etc... My question for all you gurus on here is where is the best place to find parts? Most of what im looking for is gaskets seals etc. And any other tips/tricks to make this easier. Im really looking forward to getting her running again and making it a show piece. All help is appreciated. Thanks!

-Logan

Barnyard
Team Cub
Team Cub
Zip Code: 45030
Tractors Owned: At This Time
40 Farmall Cubs (Round Hood)
2 Farmall Cub (Square Hood)
2 IH Cubs (Square Hood)
5 Lo-Boys (Round Hood)
2 Lo-Boys (Square Hood)
2 Farmall 404's
1 Farmall H
1 Ferguson 20
1 Cub Cadet 125
1 Kubota B-7100
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: New guy with some questions

Postby Barnyard » Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:32 pm