Left brake

Farmall Cub Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
J-man
Zip Code: 35080
Tractors Owned: International 154 X 2
Farmall Cub X 2
Farmall Super A X 3

Left brake

Postby J-man » Sat Sep 24, 2016 7:28 pm

Hello,

I'm a new guy to cubs and just got another farmall cub with an issue that I haven't been able to work out. The left brake rod is froze up where it goes through the main body. I unhooked tge linkage and have been using a penetrating spray and tapping for days without any type of success. I am far from an expert and hope someone can help.

Thanks

Glen
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 00000
Tractors Owned: 1956 Farmall Cub with Fast Hitch, F-11 plow, Disc, Cultivator, Cub-22 mower
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Left brake

Postby Glen » Sat Sep 24, 2016 7:52 pm

Hi,
That is what the guys on here have said to do before, soak it often with penetrating oil, at both ends, and keep working it until it comes loose. Use the pedal for leverage on it. It may take some time to come loose.
Be careful with the piece of metal on the left end that the linkage hooks onto, it is welded onto the shaft. I think I saw a pic before that someone broke it off.
Not sure about heating the shaft, the clutch housing is probably oily and greasy inside, you don't want a fire inside it.
If you do heat it, be really careful about fire on the outside or inside. :)
Last edited by Glen on Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Crimson Tim
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 32736
Tractors Owned: The crew:
"John", 1952 Cub
"Paul", 1951 Cub
"George", 1958 LoBoy Cub with Wagner 45 Loader
"Ringo", 1977 Cub

So far, Paul and Ringo have arrived. John and George were supposed to follow ages ago, but apparently have gone awol. Long story.