Unusual touch control pump

Farmall Cub Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
John *.?-!.* cub owner
Team Cub Guide
Team Cub Guide
Zip Code: 63664
Tractors Owned: 47, 48, 49 cub plus Wagner loader & other attachments. 41 Farmall H.

Unusual touch control pump

Postby John *.?-!.* cub owner » Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:18 pm

I have been tinkering with cubs for over 35 years, and in that amount of time I have had several TC pumps apart, and of all those pumps I have only seen one that had an oil seal rather than an o-ring on the pump shaft, and that one is on one of my own cubs. It has been so long since I had it apart I did not remeber which of my cubs it was on, but when I removed the pump on my 48 to rebuild it today I learned.
2016-11-02_0067.JPG

I like the seal set up, since the current seal is much thinner than the original and can be positioned so it does not run in the original groove if present. It has been around 12 to 15 years since I replaced the seal, and this particular cub gets a lot of use. If anyone needs this seal it is a National 471526. The seal does not come with the rebuild kit, and must be purchased separately if needed.
If you are not part of the solution,
you are part of the problem!!!

Bob McCarty
Team Cub
Team Cub
Zip Code: 80501
Tractors Owned: Cubs, MH Pony, Shaw, Allis G, 1934 Silver King, JD LA and LI, Gibson D, David Bradley Tri-Trac
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Unusual touch control pump

Postby Bob McCarty » Wed Nov 02, 2016 10:41 pm

John, I had also checked a while back, and there is a speedi-sleeve available in case the shaft is in real bad shape.

Bob
"We don't need to think more,
we need to think differently."
-Albert Einstein

inairam
501 Club
501 Club
Zip Code: 19342
Tractors Owned: 1948 with international 1000 loader