Just bought a Cub

Farmall Cub Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
wendyoakscubs
Zip Code: 52214

Just bought a Cub

Postby wendyoakscubs » Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:12 pm

Good afternoon to all,

I am new to this Cub forum, but have several Cub Cadet tractors and implements. I recently bought a '48 Farmall Cub...or, what's left of one to be more proper. All that's there is a front end, engine, bell housing and transmission with rear wheels. It looks like someone has installed the International Lo Boy final drive housings and front end. My overall goal with the Cub is to make it a tractor again, whether it's cost prohibitive or not, because I plan to keep it for use. Since I don't have any of the original sheet metal for that year, could I use other sheet metal from different style years, say the bar grill style or 100 series style? Did they change the way sheet metal was mounted through the years of production? Heres a picture of what I'm working with.
Attachments
farmall cub resized.jpg

Eugene
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 65051
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Just bought a Cub

Postby Eugene » Fri Dec 23, 2016 3:28 pm

Short opinion, go buy a working Cub. I don't see any potential for restoration, to many missing, expensive parts. Not even a good parts tractor.

And then, engine condition, probably very bad or the tractor wouldn't be in that condition. Magneto, condition unknown.
I have an excuse. CRS.

indy61
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 00000

Postby indy61 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:01 pm