Question about 230 lever or rod function.

Farmall C, Super C Tractors, 200 & 230 1948-1958
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Jaebrav81
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 42048

Question about 230 lever or rod function.

Postby Jaebrav81 » Sat Oct 01, 2016 1:37 pm

Hello all, I'm a newbie here.

I have a Farmall 230 that used to be my grandfathers. Over the past month I have been getting things going on it after it has been sitting in a barn for 10 years and I'm learning new things as I go.

One of these new things that is stumping me is a rod, that I assume was connected to a lever next to the throttle, that is now rigged with some wire to the bottom of the throttle lever. When I push forward on the throttle all the way, this second rod that is rigged to the throttle goes into a square box and it seems to trigger a pop in this box and the tension on that rod is relieved.

Now I don't have the tractor running just yet as I am waiting on new ignition parts, but I was wondering if this will have anything to do with getting the tractor started. The rod goes into the box like it runs beside the starter rod. This box sits in front of the oil gauge a little bit and is directly under the gas tank on the right side of the tractor. I don't have a picture of it yet as I am at work but could anyone at all possible tell me what this is and what the function of it is.

Again, I am new to all this and am hoping to turn this family tractor into a good strong working one like my grandfather had it. It ran when it was parked in the barn so I know with a little TLC I'll be good. I just don't want to buy a $40 manual to find out what this is lol.

Thank you all for your time and knowledge. I have been reading the forums and this has been a great source of into for me.

Jim Becker
Team Cub
Team Cub
Zip Code: 55319
Circle of Safety: Y