cub cadet 1811 belt problem

IHC Cub Cadet Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cadet related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
collieman
Zip Code: 43912

cub cadet 1811 belt problem

Postby collieman » Sun May 24, 2015 7:39 pm

Hi everyone!, I have a problem. I am a city boy (70 years old) and am in the position of trying to get my sister's tractor to work so she can cut her two acres of grass. Her husband passed ( he used the tractor) so I'm trying to help her by getting the tractor to work. I've had NO experience at all with the tractor. There is no manual so I'm trying to figure things out on my own. Here's the problem: The belt keeps coming off the pulleys. There is a diagram on the front frame that shows how to adjust the tension on the belt. I think I did that right by adjusting the right pulley so the second, little notch is aligned with the front frame. I start the tractor. Lower the cutting deck. Then put it in gear and start cutting. I can't get very far before the belt comes off. I had my sister run the tractor while I walked beside it watching the belt. The belt travels around the cutting deck pulley nice and smooth BUT I noticed that the up front on the left side shakes and vibrates back and forth something fierce. I see it has a spring on it. Thinking that maybe the spring has lost its tension over the years I hooked a good size spring to the pulley bracket and to the front frame for more tension but it still comes off after going maybe 50 feet or so. The added spring did nothing to stop that pulley from jumping back and forth. The belt is in pretty good shape but I did find another new belt in the garage so I installed it. That was a chore as I had to remove the cutting deck to do that. No change with the new belt. Still the belt comes off. I don't see any way of getting more t