This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

SUGARTIME !

Farming and rural life discussion forum. Cooking, hunting, gardening, fishing, critters, etc.
Ron L
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 18603
Tractors Owned: 1948 Cub
1955 Cub

SUGARTIME !

Postby Ron L » Thu Feb 26, 2004 12:04 am

The old sugar maples are starting to flow real good now. It's my first year trying this out. (being retired & all, just something to get me back in the woods!) One thing I learned... Must get more wood for next year. Propane cost just a little more. With that forty to one ratio, plenty of boiling is needed. But the sweet taste... WOW, it's all worth it!!
Ron

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

John *.?-!.* cub owner
Cub Pro
Cub Pro
Zip Code: 63664
Tractors Owned: 47, 48, 49 cub plus Wagner loader & other attachments. 41 Farmall H.

Postby John *.?-!.* cub owner » Thu Feb 26, 2004 9:03 am

I had an Uncle that since he retired had been tapping the trees on the family farm, and making syrup for him and the family. sure was good. Unfortunately he died a few weeks ago, and no one else in the family is both capable and willing to continume with the tradition.
If you are not part of the solution,
you are part of the problem!!!

parts man
10+ Years
10+ Years

Postby parts man » Thu Feb 26, 2004 5:52 pm

John, my condolences to you and you family on the passing of your uncle.

Ron, my father in law ( 79 YO) taps over 100 trees just above his house. He supplys his kids ( and sons in law :D ) with syrup, I always look forward to this time of year, another sure sign that spring is just around the corner!! Our season is a little later than yours, probly close to a month later, but my wife just told me he was tapping today!! Yipee!! :) YUMMY!!!