Lo-Boy 185 Clutch Size

IH CUB Lo-Boy Series - 154, 184, 185 Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Lo-Boy related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
kingfish9er
Zip Code: 75135
Tractors Owned: Cub Lo Boy 185

Lo-Boy 185 Clutch Size

Postby kingfish9er » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:35 pm

Good Afternoon Everyone,

Before I begin my first post, please forgive my ignorance and lack of tractor knowledge. I have extensive experience in building dirt bikes, working on vehicles and maintaining an M1A2 SEP Abrams Battle Tank, but that's about as far as it goes :)

I recently came across what I thought was a good deal on a Lo-Boy 185 for $400. It runs, no smoke and the hydraulics work. The seller told me it had a new clutch, it just needed to be adjusted. It also needed a battery, so I couldn't test drive it there. In my excitement and sheer ignorance of tractors (This is my first one), I took his word for it, we pushed it on to the trailer and I headed home.

When I got it in my shop, I threw a new battery in it and it cranked up after some slow turns. When I attempted to put it in gear, they just grinded.
I went ahead and pulled the shaft cover off and saw that the springs on the pressure plate were depressed, the friction plate was worn and the pucks were melted.
So I went ahead and ordered a new clutch kit and pucks, but I didn't think to measure the clutch size. The clutch I got in the mail is 6.5"

My question is: Will the 6.5" clutch work? I mean, the rear pressure plate is 7"... I know the throwout bearing for the 6.5 won't work but everything else seems like it wouldn't be an issue. To me, it seems like maybe a bigger clutch would be better anyway - like an upgrade.