This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Sluggish Starter Rotation. New Bat. No Start

IH CUB Lo-Boy Series - 154, 184, 185 Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Lo-Boy related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
fgr33n
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 44255

Sluggish Starter Rotation. New Bat. No Start

Postby fgr33n » Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:02 pm

Hi all, I'm a learning-as-I-go mechanic. Since buying my 154 several years ago it has alwasy been a very sluggish "turner" but a great starter. Meaning the starter turns over very slowly. This was usually not a problem, as the machine would fire and start very quickly even though the starter was turning very slowly. However, it is now turning so slowly that it will not fire. (slow rotation, pause 1 sec, slow rotation, pause 1 sec...). Since the battery is pretty old, I just replaced it with a new one-- same problem.

As far as I can see the wiring all looks good with no corrosion. I couldn't really check the wiring at the dash, as it looks like the gas tank has to come out to see it. (is this true?) Anyway, I'm guessing that the starter generator needs to be replaced (or rebuilt). Is this a good guess and where can I buy one? Thanks in advance for your help

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

beaconlight
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 10314

Re: Sluggish Starter Rotation. New Bat. No Start

Postby beaconlight » Tue Jan 25, 2011 10:20 pm

Check all your electrical connections and if they are all clean and good your starter needs cleaning and or repair.
Bill

"Life's tough.It's even tougher if you're stupid."
- John Wayne