Gas leaking out of carb (newbie here)

IH CUB Lo-Boy Series - 154, 184, 185 Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Lo-Boy related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Billiards
Zip Code: 49401

Gas leaking out of carb (newbie here)

Postby Billiards » Fri Jan 15, 2016 4:17 pm

Newbie here!
I just purchased my first tractor ever and went with a 1974 lo-boy 154. I just purchased a house with 5 acres and thought a sub compact would be a great addition to have around. Anyway....

I did some forum searching and hunted for my symptoms to resolve the problem and think I have it figured out but figured it would be nice to have extra opinions since I'm new to this tractor stuff.

Symptom is: Gas coming out of the weep hole at the bottom of the carb when parked and shut off, which points me to needle and seat in the carb. But if I shut the valve off on the side of the gas bowl just below the tank it still leaks out of the weep hole. Although shutting off the gas valve WILL stall the engine but does not stop the gas from dripping out after sitting. Does it mean the shutoff is just not completely closing? Am I missing anything that could still be a problem or should rebuilding the carb and either replacing the gas bowl and shutoff or seeing if it's repairable fix my leak problem?

Any extra advice would be appreciated!
Thanks in advance!

attached is a pic of my "new" loboy.
Attachments
image.png

staninlowerAL
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 36558