This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

185 Brake band replacement

IH CUB Lo-Boy Series - 154, 184, 185 Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Lo-Boy related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Brianleibo
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 19002

185 Brake band replacement

Postby Brianleibo » Mon Jun 19, 2017 7:16 pm

Is it necessary to drain finals or any hydrolic fluids for that matter to do this job? Im an ase master tech also what kind of time frame for this job start to finish. Assuming everything would come off/apart without a hitch. Thx Brian :tractor:

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Eugene
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 65051
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: 185 Brake band replacement

Postby Eugene » Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:54 am

The service manual, GSS-1408, says you need to split the tractor to remove the final drives. Fluids drained.

I split my 154 to repair the creeper. Checked the brakes while I had the tractor apart.

This is a might as well while you have the tractor split/apart. Check the clutch, bearings, seals, gaskets, throw out bearing, clutch brake pucks, etc..

Time frame. Don't really recall how many hours I spent on the creeper, brakes, replacing worn parts. Just guessing 20 to 30 hours. Neighbor I purchased the 154 from ask me how many dollars to repair the creeper. Told him $6.?? in parts, but the labor would have been $1200- if it were in a shop.
I have an excuse. CRS.

Larry B
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 45325
Tractors Owned: IH 184

Postby Larry B » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:50 am