Why can I not use search at this time?

How do I.... ?

Moderator: Team Cub

Scrivet
5+ Years
5+ Years
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:51 pm
Zip Code: 63664
Location: MO, Potosi

Why can I not use search at this time?

Postby Scrivet » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:37 pm

I'm getting aggravated at seeing this message practically every time I go to search;

Sorry but you cannot use search at this time. Please try again in a few minutes.

Can someone please tell me what's going on or how to fix it?

User avatar
John *.?-!.* cub owner
Team Cub Guide
Team Cub Guide
Posts: 22121
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 2:09 pm
Zip Code: 63664
Tractors Owned: 47, 48, 49 cub plus Wagner loader & other attachments. 41 Farmall H.
Location: Mo, Potosi

Re: Why can I not use search at this time?

Postby John *.?-!.* cub owner » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:41 pm

No, but I have found that if you wait 3 or 4 minutes it works. I see it when I first try to search.
If you are not part of the solution,
you are part of the problem!!!

User avatar
Barnyard
Team Cub
Team Cub
Posts: 20556
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Zip Code: 45030
Tractors Owned: At This Time
40 Farmall Cubs (Round Hood)
2 Farmall Cub (Square Hood)
2 IH Cubs (Square Hood)
5 Lo-Boys (Round Hood)
2 Lo-Boys (Square Hood)
2 Farmall 404's
1 Farmall H
1 Ferguson 20
1 Cub Cadet 125
1 Kubota B-7100
Circle of Safety: Y
Location: OH, New Haven (Hamilton County)

Re: Why can I not use search at this time?

Postby Barnyard » Wed Oct 08, 2014 9:45 pm

I found it will give me that message if I click a second time before it gives me my results. But that is normal for it to do that. Can't say what causes you to get the message.
It is common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another. But above all, try something.
- Franklin D. Roosevelt -

Circle of Safety

User avatar
Dennis
Site Admin
Posts: 3427
Joined: Sat Feb 01, 2003 9:53 pm
Zip Code: 64075
Tractors Owned: 1947 Farmall Cub
104 Cub Cadet
Cub Cadet Original
Circle of Safety: Y
Twitter ID: @farmallcubcom
Location: MO, Oak Grove

Re: Why can I not use search at this time?

Postby Dennis » Thu Oct 09, 2014 12:52 pm

Scrivet wrote:I'm getting aggravated at seeing this message practically every time I go to search;

Sorry but you cannot use search at this time. Please try again in a few minutes.

Can someone please tell me what's going on or how to fix it?

The search delay setting was set to a 30 second delay between searches. The reason for the delay is the database (forum) is quite large and searches (especially multiple people searching at the same time), puts a large load on the server.

Now, I've set the delay to 15 seconds. I will be monitoring the server and if I note excessive loads again, I'll need to move that delay setting higher. (Note: The forum search is restricted to words that are 3 or more letters in length and no more than 8 words.); the Google search box on the header has no restrictions, although Google throws out any single letters such as 'a", "I", etc...
Image Proud Member
Are you a member? Copy this code below and paste it in your signature to display it proudly!

Code: Select all

[url=http://nationalihcollectors.com/index.html][img]http://farmallcub.com/images/ihcc.jpg[/img][/url]

Circle of Safety Passed the "Circle of Safety" test? Add your signature badge using

Code: Select all

[cos][/cos]

User avatar
John *.?-!.* cub owner
Team Cub Guide
Team Cub Guide
Posts: 22121
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 2:09 pm
Zip Code: 63664
Tractors Owned: 47, 48, 49 cub plus Wagner loader & other attachments. 41 Farmall H.
Location: Mo, Potosi

Re: Why can I not use search at this time?

Postby John *.?-!.* cub owner » Thu Oct 09, 2014 7:31 pm

when I would click the view your posts button, then put something in the search forum is when I would see it. I guess it considers the View your Posts as a search function also.
If you are not part of the solution,
you are part of the problem!!!

Scrivet
5+ Years
5+ Years
Posts: 2517
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:51 pm
Zip Code: 63664
Location: MO, Potosi

Re: Why can I not use search at this time?

Postby Scrivet » Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:50 pm

Thanks Dennis, the thirty second delay makes sense. I just didn't know about it. So repetitively trying to do a search just kept resetting my 30 second clock. DOOH! Nice to know about the three letter search also. I thought it was four and always tried a way around "PTO xxxxxxxx" searches trying not to use PTO.

User avatar
Barnyard
Team Cub
Team Cub
Posts: 20556
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 3:39 pm
Zip Code: 45030
Tractors Owned: At This Time
40 Farmall Cubs (Round Hood)
2 Farmall Cub (Square Hood)
2 IH Cubs (Square Hood)
5 Lo-Boys (Round Hood)
2 Lo-Boys (Square Hood)
2 Farmall 404's
1 Farmall H
1 Ferguson 20
1 Cub Cadet 125
1 Kubota B-7100
Circle of Safety: Y
Location: OH, New Haven (Hamilton County)

Re: Why can I not use search at this time?

Postby Barnyard » Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:55 pm

Jeff, if you need to search a three letter word you can use the wild card. Just type pto* and enter that.
It is common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another. But above all, try something.
- Franklin D. Roosevelt -

Circle of Safety


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Message Board & Computer Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests