This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

1950 cub

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Mht
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 27606
Tractors Owned: 1949 farmall cub(building from parts) 1950 farmall cub
1971 David Brown 880 selectamatic
Circle of Safety: Y

1950 cub

Postby Mht » Sat Apr 06, 2019 11:19 am

My 1950 cub still won’t run right. First a little background on me and my cub might be in order. I’m a former heavy equipment mechanic so I know my way around diagnostics and engines. I bought my cub with a stuck engine and when dissembled I determined the block was not salvageable so I bought a parts tractor with good block and built myself an engine with new bearings rings and valve train including hardened exhaust valve seats. Installed engine in tractor with rebuilt carb (Macdonald carb kit and I’ve triple checked float height). Installed magneto with new points condenser rotor cap wires and plugs ( parts from brillman). I static timed the magneto and tweaked with timing light after tractor was running. Carb to governor linkage has been checked and set according to service manual and governor spring is new. The tractor idles great and runs great at full throttle. That is where the he good ends. Rapid acceleration and the tractor stumbles and dies. It then restarts fine. Low speed (less than half throttle and the tractor drives and operates well in all gears. Full throttle and it dies about as fast as you let out the clutch except in first gear or reverse. I’ve double and triple checked everything I can