This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

which voltage regulator?

Farmall Super A, AV, 100, 130, & 140 1939 - 1973
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
cabinetman
Zip Code: 04973

which voltage regulator?

Postby cabinetman » Fri Apr 15, 2022 1:48 pm

Hi all. I appreciate the info on the carbs provided by five fellas. I'm going to try to rebuild this one. I've got a lot of experience with old carbs so am not expecting any issues.

Now I'm faced with rewiring my 1940 A. It has a generator but no belt. I've also found an old Chrysler 6 volt regulator, without a cover, screwed to the body and it's not usable. IT's also not original to be sure. I have installed a new battery in a new battery box (very spiffy!) and rewired it correctly (red to ground) and can easily start the tractor as long as the carb cooperates.

I also have installed a set of lights on it and am going to install the rotary light switch below the ammeter.

The question I have is WHICH regulator am I supposed to use? The original one looks like it had two or three contacts. The one I threw away had four. Steiner's has one for $20 or $125. I also own the repro manuals and service books for this tractor but I'm at a loss to figure out which one is correct. Can any of you all out there point me in the right direction? One regulator screws onto the generator. Is this what I need?

Very much appreciated.

Please all, have a safe and enjoyable Easter hopefully with family and friends.

Cabinetman

Jim Becker
Team Cub
Team Cub
Zip Code: 55319
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: which voltage regulator?