Powering a winch on a car trailer?

Anything that might not belong on the other message boards!
DZG
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 49247

Powering a winch on a car trailer?

Postby DZG » Sun Aug 08, 2021 6:25 am

So hopefully this afternoon im going to pick up a new (to me) 10000gvw 82 wide by 18ft equipment trailer. Ive needed a bigger trailer for a while and im tired of borrowing my buddies lol.

At some point id like to mount a 12,000lb winch on it (better to much then not enough), ive done some research and the winch im looking at pulls 369amps@full load.

Im not good with electric but my question is whats the best way to power this thing? Would a deep cycle marine give me enough ass for a big job? Or would a big regular car battery suffice?

Ive also thought about buying some zero gauge wire and running from my truck battery to the back of the truck with a plug that i can plug the winch into, but im worried about amp drop going through 20+ feet of wire (F250 long bed/extended cab), and i wonder if my charging system would be overtaxed anyways (its a 97 HD with a 460, i think its a 90 or 110 amp alt).

Can anyone point me in a direction here? Lol Thank you.

Eugene
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 65051
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Powering a winch on a car trailer?

Postby Eugene » Sun Aug 08, 2021 7:13 am

We use a heavy duty/large wire size jumper cables, about 25 feet long, standard automotive battery, engine running.

Plenty of available amps. Over 600 cold cranking amps from the battery plus the amps from the alternator.

There is a limited run time for the winch, so the battery and trucks charging system are not a problem. It probably takes a bit under the 369 amps for the winch to crank over the trucks engine.

Edit: Some other uses for the winch. We have used our winch several times to recover a skid steer. Chain the winch to a large tree and the cable end to the skid steer. Used the skid steer battery and jumper cables to power the winch.