This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Cub-Related Book Summary !

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
magnumpi
10+ Years
10+ Years

Postby magnumpi » Sat Nov 25, 2006 10:40 am

As a total newbie to the world of Farmall Cubs, I thought it best to do some reading to attempt to get a feel for the topic and be able to communicate semi-intelligently. I jumped on Amazon and Overstock and discovered there was plenty to occupy one's credit card - the problem was what to buy so I offer the following brief summaries in an effort to save some future newbies time and money better spent on parts etc at site sponsors !!
1) Farmall - Leffingwell - Beautiful "coffee table" book with about 25% test and 75% color pictures. Absolutely stunning photos and an interesting recap of the history of Farmall, but little to nothing Cub-specific - several pictures of one-of-a-kind Cubs that I'll never see.
2) Field Guide to Farmall Tractors - Pripps - This is the equivalent to the Corvette Black Book !! Every model's statistics inc. years produced and most major technical specs. Also several color pics of each model mentioned. About 6-7 pages in total that are Cub-related.
3) How To Restore Classic Farmalls - Gaines - To date, this has been the most helpful to me personally. There is a chapter on troubleshooting that includes what to look for when shopping and how to test for it. It looks to me that this will be the book I consult most often when the time is right. Lots of how-to b & w pics with good descriptions IMO.