This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

The Incredible Coolant Vanishing Act

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Champion James
10+ Years
10+ Years

The Incredible Coolant Vanishing Act

Postby Champion James » Sun Aug 05, 2007 11:29 pm

So I feel compelled to stress yet again than I am a beginner in these matters, but after a couple years of neglecting the Cub I'm finally coming 'round to addressing some of her complaints.

High on my checklist is the radiator problem. Every time I mow I have to fill the radiator, and by the time I'm through with the 4 acres it's almost bone dry. I'm using 50-50 that I mix from Prestone and distilled water. My observations thus far:

1. Coolant isn't coming out of the overflow tube, 'cause I watch for this while I'm mowing.
2. I've never seen any steam or other evidence of overheating.
3. No smoky or anti-freeze smelling exhaust from the tailpipe.
4. I check the crankcase oil often, and it doesn't seem discolored or odd-smelling.
5. No visible dripping from anywhere or puddling on the shed floor. The coolant level only drops when the Cub's running.
6. There is a vague smell of anti-freeze that wafts up from the fan when it's running.

No engine trouble or performance problems, thankfully. Just a thirsty radiator. Must've gone through 4 gallons of anti-freeze so far this summer.

Surely you gents have the answer, but it's beyond me...
1955 Cub

BigBill
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 00000

Postby BigBill » Mon Aug 06, 2007 6:06 am