This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Super A Zenith Carb issues?

Farmall Super A, AV, 100, 130, & 140 1939 - 1973
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Super A
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 28521
Tractors Owned: Collector of Super As, Corn Pickers, and a buncha other junk. Even a Cub now and then...
Circle of Safety: Y

Super A Zenith Carb issues?

Postby Super A » Sun Nov 29, 2020 3:36 pm

To begin with, please remember I'm a novice that enjoys turning bolts. That does not mean I always know what I'm doing!

I recently got this Super A for "parts." But it's too nice to be parted out. I wanted it for the "correct" Touch Control for my '47 Super A, so I'm going to swap the '50 model Touch Control on my '47 to this one and keep it for a while.

The carb needed to be cleaned out, the tractor wouldn't run so I took it apart for cleaning. Squirted carb cleaner through all the holes in it and then I put it all back together and it ran beautifully if it was about half choked. If the choke was full open, it stuttered and stumbled.

So, I took the carb back apart and completely disassembled it inasmuch as I took every single jet out of it, soaked it in a can of carb cleaner, then blew it out with carb cleaner again. I discovered the discharge nozzle had a crack in it about halfway down the lower half. So, I replaced it, cleaned the carb again, and put it all back together. It runs better with the choke full open, but it's still not just right.