This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Lo Boy 154 Timing marks? Did I make a King Sized Mess?

IH CUB Lo-Boy Series - 154, 184, 185 Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Lo-Boy related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
sideburnz
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 08559
Tractors Owned: Cub lo boy 155

Lo Boy 154 Timing marks? Did I make a King Sized Mess?

Postby sideburnz » Wed Mar 15, 2017 8:49 am

Hello everybody, I'm new to old tractors with some experience working on more modern motorcycle engines. I previously worked as a high end bicycle mechanic so I have a good amount of small part and hand tool savvy.

My wife and I just moved to a place with some land in NJ, and it came with a Lo Boy 154. Had been running well in the month we've been here, though slow to start when its cold. However, it gave up on starting all together just in time for our snow storm yesterday. Unfortunately the 154 was my plan for clearing snow from our 1/4 mile driveway. Our 24" snowblower got a real serious workout yesterday.

Here's the short story:
Was getting a very intermittant spark at the plugs. The plugs looked terrible when I took them out to check the spark so I replaced them. Didn't seem to make much difference. The points were about a mile apart when I checked them, remedied that without any noticeable change in the spark.

Now here's where I think I might have started making myself a real mess: